Skip to content

I <3 BG, Should Love Planescape Torment...

dndadventuredndadventure Member Posts: 3
I work in health care, and recently I worked 70-hour weeks in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do but work and sleep. Miserable, overworked and alone, I needed a win. So I played Baldur's Gate for the first time.

Holy shit. What a wonderful game. What a wonderful series. I'm grateful these games were out there waiting for me, and I'm glad I put them off for so long.

I haven't played Dungeons & Dragons since I was in college, and it was such a nostalgic pleasure to romp through the games: thac0, low-level charm spells in BG1, beholders kicking my ass in BG2, the cathartic murdering of Drizzt (that melodramatic bastard has been asking for it for years!). Thanks to Minsc's solidarity and Boo's optimism, I now have fond memories of what otherwise would have been a miserable five months.

I'm through with the games but not done adventuring just yet. I purchased Torment, thinking it would be a good fit. I've always loved the Planescape campaign setting, and I definitely lean more towards story-oriented than combat-oriented games (I liked The Longest Journey a lot, and I'm more of a reader than a gamer). I really like the look and feel of these isometric RPGs, and to me, they're more immersive than a modern game like Skyrim (a kickass game for sure, but I'll take BG2 over it any day).

But I just can't get into this game. This is the second time I've tried to play it, and I'm now giving up for the second time. I'm underground with some cranium rats, and it's just... boring.

Does the pace pick up? Do I need to just suffer through it for a little longer? I really *want* to get into this game, but sheesh...

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • CorvinoCorvino Member Posts: 2,269
    Welcome to the forums.