Skip to content

Complete Noob, dltcep setup?

I haven't played the Baldur's Gate series in years, since before there were mods. Back when I played it, the extent of modding was IEEP being used to add funky arms and armor. Half the fun was the descriptions.

I know, dark days. The stuff people make nowadays is amazing!

Anywho, I wanted to play around with some of those ancient item's, like from places like Arundor's Abode(can't believe that website still exists). I can't seem to figure out how to set up the DLTCEP, though.

For example, trying BG2 Enhanced now. I go to setup, select BG2 + ToB, find the chitin.key that is in Program Files (x86)\Baldur's Gate ii enhanced edition\ , and I find the bg2effects.dat that are in C:\Program Files (x86)\TeamBG IE MOD Tools\DLTCEP\ . Click Add Setup, Save and Back.

On turning it on, it can't find dialog.tlk in C:Program Files (x86)\Baldur's Gate ii enhanced edition\ , ignoring string references. Everything is "unknown."

I'm sure I'm doing something stupid. Can someone walk through a poor fool like me?

Comments

• So_LoWSo_LoW Member Posts: 62
    Copy dialog.tlk from [main game folder]/lang/en_US to the main folder (C:Program Files (x86)\Baldur's Gate ii enhanced edition\) and be sure to uncheck read only flag in dltcep settings :) remember to copy dialog.tlk if u install any mod coz this one in the main folder wont change
  • argent77argent77 Member Posts: 3,434
    You shouldn't copy the dialog.tlk anywhere. The latest DLTCEP version (currently v7.6g) supports BG(2)EE just fine.

Setting up DLTCEP is a bit tricky. To configure DLTCEP for BG2EE:
    - Click on "Setup" to open the configuration dialog
    - Select the appropriate game type from the top right list (BG[2]EE in this case)
    - Specify the location of the chitin.key (e.g. C:\Program Files (x86)\Baldur's Gate II Enhanced Edition\Data\00783\chitin.key)