Skip to content

BG2 Tweaks, good to go for BG:EE

CamDawgCamDawg Member, Developer Posts: 3,438
edited August 2012 in General Modding
I've spent a pleasant weekend with BGEE and BG2 Tweaks, and I'm pleased to say BG2 Tweaks is fully working on the current beta build, with a major caveat--we'll still need a new version of WeiDU for distribution.

Comments

• BerconBercon Member Posts: 486
    Is anybody working on update to WeiDU? And just out of interest, how are the official DLCs released without using WeiDU or are they completely incompatible with mods?
  • TanthalasTanthalas Member Posts: 6,738
    I imagine that DLCs and official updates will patch the game directly, instead of adding stuff by throwing them into the override folder.

I'm not a programmer, so my opinion is basically made as an outsider, but I imagine that stuff from Overhaul will only appear in the Override folder if its some kind of quick hotfix to problems.
    @Tanthalas The problem is that every single string you see in game (like item names, creature names, descriptions, dialogs etc.) come from single file. All mods have to edit that file. All official DLCs will have to edit that file (unless they do things with magic). So, either the DLCs use system similar to WeiDU or WeiDU and are compatible with mods. If not then the DLCs will require a clean install of the game without mods, and mods can only be installed on top of that game after DLCs have been installed.

@CamDawg Really good to hear that. Just in case I fetched WeiDUs source codes and took a peek. Thank god I don't have to start editing those. I don't even know what language it is.
  • jcomptonjcompton Member Posts: 157
    Bercon said:

I don't even know what language it is.

Ocaml, the choice of French computer scientists everywhere! (Everywhere in France, that is.)
    Tanthalas said:

I imagine that DLCs and official updates will patch the game directly, instead of adding stuff by throwing them into the override folder.