Skip to content

Additional roleplaying and flavor text added to the game

JaysamaJaysama Member Posts: 66
edited August 2012 in Archive (Feature Requests)
The first game I ever played in the DnD universe was Torment. I've never played anything like it and it blew me away. I eventually got ahold of the Baldurs Gate games and since they were so awesome I didn't particularly miss the descriptive text. (90% of the text in BG was dialogue).

I would love to see additional chunks of text added all throughout the game. Detailed descriptions of every area you walk into, people you meet, things you might see in the distance.

I understand the game is close to release and this would take a massive amount of time, but if anyone would consider attempting to add something like this I would love to volunteer to do all the work I could! I have lots of spare time and I've been roleplaying for many years and I think I could make the game a lot more fun for a lot of people interested in something like this.

Comments

• JalilyJalily Member Posts: 4,681
    I'd love this!
  • JaysamaJaysama Member Posts: 66
    Jalily said:

I'd love this!

Thank you for supporting!

Isn't it strange that Baldur's Gate is so focused on dialogue? It's hard to complain because they did everything right, but anyone who loves roleplaying wants more, more, and more!

• SneakyDumplingSneakyDumpling Member Posts: 6
    A great place to start Jaysama if you want something like this, is the FR novels which center upon the protagonist from BG. Whilst you don't get to play as charname and make your own decisions. I thought the books did a pretty good job of expanding on the story a bit and making it more immersive (as books tend to do).

I don't know if you have read them but I enjoyed them quite a bit.

On the plus side I imagine that once BG EE is released it will prompt a flurry of new and old modders to begin cranking stuff out. And it is possible that someone will begin work on a text based RP addition.