Skip to content

Drow Race: Questions

Okay, I know this is much-requested and, lets be frank, a bit of a hot button topic.

But Drow as a playable race. Bearing in mind that all the original mod content I've written is one NPC with no banters, quests or dialogue, I am to understand that you can't add a new race to the game, because the total number of races is hardcoded in. But you could edit a race, and make it something completely different, ne?

So, lets say Gnome - could we turn the Gnome race into Drow? Would that effect every gnome in the game, or just the PC gnomes? Would, say, Quayle then become a Drow?

Second - how would one go about adding encounters or editing dialogue that only comes up if the character is a Drow? Would it be as simple as setting the Drow race as a trigger?

Forgive my ignorance - I'm kind of new to the whole thing. I'm more used to just playing other people's mods that trying to make my own. But I would be very interested in playing a Drow, fantastical racism and all, so if you could answer my questions, I'd appreciate it.
Dungeonnoob

Comments

• DungeonnoobDungeonnoob Member Posts: 315
    Just paint the elf char blue/grey or black and make it evil,my 2 cents.What we need is a Duergar mode:P,while we are at it.
    "Shouts" CREVS:).
    Sorry for my noobish answer..
    CrevsDaak
  • CrevsDaakCrevsDaak Member Posts: 7,155
    If you edit an entire race every creature in the game will be affected, but not all might get the bonuses, since they're only adjusted at level up or character creation.

I've tried adding a new race but back then I didn't have the modding skilz I have today. A good idea is to do what Dungeonnoob suggests, just editing the character you want with EEKeeper and use the Elf race as Viconia or Baeloth have.