Skip to content

Having trouble with an F/M/C Solo: First Run

Baron_BathoryBaron_Bathory Member Posts: 46
Hey all!

First and foremost thanks a bunch for all the help. You guys have been awesome and I can scarcely believe that my favorite games in the world have this much of a following; and a knowledgeable one at that!

So this is my first time ever playing IWD 1. I purchased the EE a few days ago and it's been really fun. I know first play through should always be with a party, but this game isn't exactly BG2. A party in IWD doesn't provide the stimulation that only Jan Jansen & company can give me. I would much rather become insanely powerful and explode all enemies at will while experiencing an awesome story.

So anyways, due to the level cap vs BG's exp cap, I decided to take the obvious choice of F/M/C (Half Elf). I capped out Dex, Int, & Wis. Left Cha & Con at 10, and put strength at 12.

The beginning was excruciating. As soon as I got a couple of fighter and cleric levels, it got a bit better. I'm now able (4/4/4) to buff significantly and get most jobs done. But I have to avoid a good number of enemies. I'm just exploring the crypts east of Kuldahar now. Managed to kill the skeleton warrior and grab the key. Gonna head off the the main crypt tonight and see where it takes me.

Has anyone else had a lot of trouble in early fights? I'm playing core diff so the experience isn't incredible. I usually buff with DUHM, AoF, Aid, and Protection from Evil. Should I be using anything else to make this easier? I could probably throw a few arcane defences up but then I would have to sacrifice my armor. You guys & gals have any tips?

Thanks again!

Comments

• hisplshispls Member Posts: 166
    Only thing I can think of is some grinding. IWD is pretty good about spawning enemies to interrupt your rest and it's rather predictable what type will spawn where. Pick a place where you can't get swarmed (a dead end-narrow path) and grind.