Skip to content

Dark Souls 2

the_spyderthe_spyder Member Posts: 5,018
I was just wondering how many forumites like myself play Dark Souls 2 these days and what, if any, your impressions of the game are.

I've been playing it pretty steadily for a few months now and have finally completed my first pass of the game proper. Being a BG and general RPG fan, I much prefer to 'Specialize' my characters and actually role play them through the world, which is surprisingly possible considering it is a console game.

Any thoughts on the game proper would be great. I started the thread here because I know the quality of gamer that frequent these forums and so feel confident in an enlightening discussion.

Comments

• FinneousPJFinneousPJ Member Posts: 6,455
    I still haven't finished the first one. Love it, though. The backlog of great games to play is too high!
  • JLeeJLee Member Posts: 650
    I played a sorcerer for ~100 hours, but never finished it. I thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and gameplay, but found I didn't have enough time. It is not a game for a casual, impromptu session, at least for me. One day I would like to return to it, but as FinneousPJ stated, the pile of games I want to play keeps getting higher and higher as my time gets shorter and shorter.

I will keep an eye on this thread though, because I really did enjoy it. I might rethink my character choice though if I do pick it up again. I went in without knowing anything about the game and I've read over and over how great the melee mechanics are in the game.
  • the_spyderthe_spyder Member Posts: 5,018
    @JLee - I too played a Sorcerer for a really long time. In PvE, they totally rock. In PvP, less so. Either that or I am just not a very good player (a point I concede).

I found the game incredible deep all things considered. And yes, I find the combat mechanics the best of the game, and really the best I've seen in a game. I am currently working on completing the DLC portions and they are TOUGH.