Skip to content

Solo Berserker/Cleric

MalacPokMalacPok Member Posts: 96
I'd like to try this one. Mainly because the idea of a raging berserker, suddenly choosing a priestly path, just sounds so wicked. Since I'm going solo the dilemma is the following> to dual at 9 or 13?

9 is fairly easy. 450K Xp is not such a huge deal to collect. A couple of courier missions should suffice. However, this could make the end of ToB even harder.

13 could be a real pain. The question is whether the +1/2 attack is worth it? I don't know how to collect 1.35M XP with such a weak&low-level character. I'm not very good with clerics either.

I did it with a kensai/mage without serious troubles, but that happened with the possibility of using scrolls to gain XP, and the superior utility of Arcane magic.

Any suggestions? (I know about the trick of finishing missions only after dual, but even with that 1.35M is just lightyears away)

Another question: what weapons to specialize on? Dual-wield or sword and shield style? Any tips would be helpful.

Post edited by MalacPok on

Comments

• WowoWowo Member Posts: 2,064
    Flail and 2 pips in dual wield. At least 2 pips in mace.

Level breaks are about APR:
    9 berserker: 2.5 attacks, 3.5 dual wield, 4 bracers, 8 IH
    13 beserker: 3 attacks, 4 dual wield, 4.5 bracers, 9 IH
    Fighter or Ranger/Cleric: 2.5 attacks, 3.5 dual wield, 4 bracers, 8 IH, 10 whirlwind attack
    Fighter/Cleric/Mage: 2.5 attacks, 3.5 dual wield, 4 bracers, 8 IH, 10 whirlwind attack

Obviously access to IH will significantly impact the experience.
  • FinneousPJFinneousPJ Member Posts: 6,455
    If you think you won't like collecting the extra XP, just dual at 9. It's still a great build.
  • MalacPokMalacPok Member Posts: 96
    The part I'm most worried about are the late battles of ToB. Any good&cheesy stategies bringing down the Ravager and Melissan with a cleric type?

I'm gonna go with the Flail of Ages, and probably pick up the exploding club later on.