Skip to content

My first actual D&D session today. Here is what I learned:

StormvesselStormvessel Member Posts: 654
For the first time I actually took part in a real D&D session. And it was a disaster - at least the first two hours. We started a new campaign and we will be doing it every Saturday. I have had some experience with D&D before but it was mainly just creating characters and messing about. Nothing like this. Here are some things I learned:

1. Baldur's Gate is part of D&D - not D&D. D&D is a massive universe. Baldur's Gate is a CAMPAIGN. It uses from D&D the same way a real campaign session might use from D&D. But it doesn't encompass all of D&D, not even close. For instance, on this campaign, we are doing quests and have a setting. It's part of the D&D universe. But the universe is vast. There are so many weapons, items, magics, settings, and other things that aren't in these PC games. The PC games are just single campaigns that draw from the universe, nothing more. I didn't realize that. I do now.

2. The thing that makes D&D "D&D" isn't the ruleset. What makes D&D "D&D" is the interaction. The human element. We can deviate from the ruleset entirely but it will still be D&D. Interacting with each other is really unlike anything I've ever experienced before.

3. The GM is GOD.

4. The mental element. It was very rocky the first two hours but the last two hours went well. Here is the thing - by the end of the session I had a mental understanding, a mental picture, of this alternate reality. Everything was happening in my mind. Kind of freaky. The human interaction in this game is what gives the game it's power. Totally unlike anything I've ever experienced.