Skip to content

Musical Thematics - Jaheira's Theme

BelgarathMTHBelgarathMTH Member Posts: 5,653
edited September 2012 in Archive (General Discussion)
Hello, I am a musician in real life. My interest in musical thematics started with the release of Star Wars and John Williams' music in 1978 (Main Title, Luke's Theme, Leia's Theme, Good Side of the Force Theme, etc., interspersed through the whole trilogy soundtrack, descended from Wagnerian leitmotif).

I can't believe I never made this connection before, but Jaheira's romance theme is directly stated in the B Theme of the Main Title of Baldur's Gate: Shadows of Amn.

I wonder if this means that the "canon" SoA story was meant to be that Charname is a male and will eventually wind up married to Jaheira?

I don't hear any of the other themes in the Main Title (Ano's, Aerie's, Viconia's). Are there any other music-sensitive people in here who can point out other insights about Hoenig's musical soundtrack?

On a side note, at least one of the battle music tracks is a variation on the A Theme of the Main Title. I would speculate that Michael Hoenig may have been inspired by Wagner and John Williams in his compositional style. The superlative music of the series certainly adds to the epic feel of the game, as any music-sensitive person will tell you.

Comments

• StrangeCatStrangeCat Member Posts: 39
    yo music sensitive LOL.

Lemotif. Actually Final Fantasy IV was doing this way before most games.
    It's good game directing.

I wrote the music to a Never Winter Nights Mod called "Maimed God's Saga" where I used it.

Themes have to mean something psychologically in the game or film in order to mean something as they are reused and re-arranged to create a new emotion for a part or character.

This is really why a composer needs to understand the subject he is composing for and be part of the music directing when adding the music.