Skip to content

Skald (Bard) Armor? And battle AI question

LooxLoox Member Posts: 18
Hello everyone,

I'm new to BG (the interface had scared me away).

I rolled a nice Bard and enjoy playing him But I have 2 questions:

1. He's not a dual or multi class.. So he can't wear leather if he wants to cast spells in battle and he's not a mage so he can't wear robes. What can he wear? Surely there must be some armor in the game somewhere that I can find, no?

2. Next: he always defaults to melee or ranged during combAt. If I ask him to play song he stopped and joins in all the time. Any way to make him play his song and not stop unless I tell him to? Without taking the AI off for everyone else too?

These two things really affect the enjoyment of the class for me.

Thanks and happy to be here!

Comments

• Lord_TansheronLord_Tansheron Member Posts: 4,211
    Loox said:

1. He's not a dual or multi class.. So he can't wear leather if he wants to cast spells in battle and he's not a mage so he can't wear robes. What can he wear? Surely there must be some armor in the game somewhere that I can find, no?

There are elven chainmails (various) that you can wear and still cast spells. But generally, Bards tend to work best when kept out of harm's way, using their Song and other support abilities (Blade is an obvious exception to this).
    Of course you also get UAI later, which will let you use any mage robe etc. you like.
    Loox said:

2. Next: he always defaults to melee or ranged during combAt. If I ask him to play song he stopped and joins in all the time. Any way to make him play his song and not stop unless I tell him to? Without taking the AI off for everyone else too?

In your bard's character screen, go to "Customize" -> "Script". You can assign various automatic AI scripts there, or turn them off entirely. This will only change script choices for THAT character and won't affect anyone else.
  • QueegonQueegon Member Posts: 363
    edited April 2016