Skip to content

My first impressions (and my second impressions)

I've finished SoD for the first time just two days ago, and my playthrough gave me a lot to think about. I've played and loved the Baldur's Gate series since the original game's release, but up until I started playing SoD, I've never really put much thought into what the games' overall themes were.

I first played Dragonspear back in early April just after its release. I played it with two different parties, but neither has gotten past the starting stages of chapter 3. I think part of the reason why I didn't put much effort into finishing these playthroughs was that my initial experience with the game jarred with my prior expectations.

For me, Baldur's Gate represents many things, but two of the ones that typically come to mind when I think of BG are adventure and mystery. And I think the first two chapters of SoD, the ones I've originally played, gave me a false first impression of what the whole game is like. It seemed like adventure was gone, and it had been taken over by war and misery. I realize why these chapters are necessary from a storytelling standpoint, and they're certainly delivered competently, but they're not a good indication of what the player should expect from SoD going forward.

While the war theme is, of course, heavily present throughout the entire SoD story, luckily in the later chapters adventure returns and restores that happy equilibrium of tones that I think any successful Baldur's Gate game needs to aim for. While my first impression gave me reasons to worry, I'm now happy to say that I think SoD gets stronger as it goes along.