Skip to content

is Planescape: Torment a depressing game?

aexaex Member Posts: 2
alright, this will be a weird one, but i really need to ask, i'm new to crpg, and i'm enjoying baldur's gate 1 way more than i though i would, after searching more about the gems of the genre i was intrigued by planescape: torment, thing is, it seems depressing, and i kinda have an issue here, with good stories i usually get so sucked in, with good depressing story i got depressingly sucked in
so the questions is:
is Planescape: Torment a depressing game? if i have a history with depression could this trigger it back?

i immensely like a philosophical, thought provoking stories, i played SOMA a week or so ago and i'm still in awe

so what do you think? yay or nay?

thanks and sorry if posted on the wrong forum

Comments

• FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511
    I wouldn't call it depressing, no.
    [Deleted User]jackjack
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited July 2016
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    jackjack
  • dunbardunbar Member Posts: 1,603
    edited July 2016
    BG was the first crpg I ever played, quickly followed by PS:T when it first came out. PS:T is a completely different sort of game in that (as I see it) you don't play it to 'win' or to 'beat it', you play it to experience it - so it is thought provoking.
    DJKajuruClumsy_Dwarf
  • brusbrus Member Posts: 944
    PS:T does have grotesque feel in area design and in narration but none of that will make you depressed.
    On the contrary, you'll just dive in the story with some battles to fight.
  • lunarlunar Member Posts: 3,460
    edited July 2016