Skip to content

My review

Hi folks,

I know it's a bit late to post a review on SoD since the game was released several months ago, but I read so many bad (or even agressive) reviews that I almost felt forced to post mine.
First of all, let's say I'm a huge fan of Baldur's gate saga and of the forgotten realms games. I started playing BG1 and BG2 in the early 2000's (I'm 28 now), when both still came in 5 or 6 CDs versions (epic time !), and couldn't find any RPG coming close to these since that day. Of course, like many of us, I've also played Planescape Torment, Icewind Dale, Heart of Winter, Icewind Dale II, Neverwinter nights and its extensions as well since then. Each one of these opus brought me something. To me, Neverwinter nights is probably the worst of all. The story is cheap, the graphics are cheap, only a few maps worth the game. Icewind Dale is clearly not the better one regarding the story, but I enjoyed discovering the frozen plains of the north, improving my tactics, and the maps are beautiful. Planescape Torment (which I'm playing again at the moment) left me an undescriptible feeling when I ended it for the first time. I remember telling to myself « wow, this is the most wonderful book I've ever read ». However, the Baldur's gate saga remains my favorite one, because of this perfect balance between a great storyline and great battles.
It took me a few months before I decided to download and play SoD. One of the many reasons is of course what Beamdog had done with the enhanced editions before. The GUI upgrade looks fine to me, but I never manage to get into these new baldur's gate characters, Neera, etc. The « black pits » stuff was even more disappointing, and I was afraid that Siege of Dragonspear contributed even more to this disappointment. This feeling was of cours revived by the numerous bad reviews I had read about the game, depicting a « mediocre work » or even worse.