Skip to content

Cannot get Big World Project to install using the Big World Project installation tool

tigermitchtigermitch Member Posts: 3
Hi,

I'm a huge fan of the Baldur's Gate series and wanted to play it again after many years. I know that there are many mods that are available out there now that help to change the flavor and feel of the original games and wanted to add this to my new mega mod install.

I have the Baldur's Gate "the Original Saga" (3 discs that has the TotSC), Baldur's Gate 2 Shadow of Amn (4 discs), and Baldur's Gate 2 Throne of Bhaal (1 disc). I am installing these games on a Macbook Pro 17" (early 2013) laptop that also has Windows 7 installed via Bootcamp. It has 250 GB of space for the Windows 7 Bootcamp section. The laptop has 8 GB of RAM. They are going to be installed on the Windows 7 portion of the computer.

I am totally new to modding or installing mods but I think that I can follow directions pretty well and notice that there seems to be lots of helps and guides out there. I'm currently using the Leonardo Watson Big World Project guide and installer v15.6 and the BigWorldSetup-bigworldsetup-86d8ed655ef5. I've followed it as best as I can with the install of the games and patches. All games are installed at the Custom or Full install with all blocks checked. It installs in the: Program Files (x86)/Black Isle/BGII - SoA (The Baldur's Gate "the Original Saga" is installed to: Program Files (x86)/Black Isle/Baldur's Gate). I then opened each of the 3 games and created save games and then exited per the guide. I've disabled the Anti Virus software and have disabled UAC. I also increased the virtual memory in Windows 7 (one post recommended I up it to twice the installed RAM at minimum). I run the Start Big World Setup - Update if needed tool to choose the mods that I want to add. It downloads these files from the net and auto extracts these files into Program Files (x86)/Black Isle/BGII - SoA folder. Once I've done this, I then go to t