Skip to content

adding and removing item charges

seraglioseraglio Member Posts: 122
Hi all. I'm new to modding in BG:EE and looking for some general guidance. I'm playing around trying to create a "simple" point based magic system for a kit. The specifics are irrelevant, I'm just looking for a simple way to increment and decrement an integer and not lose track of the current count.

So far I've tried to use item charges and "stack size" and been perplexed that neither of these seems to be easily increased or decreased via opcodes.

I first tried to use item charges and opcode 243. Unfortunately, it doesn't take negative numbers. I've read it used to =(

Then I tried using combinations of opcodes 111, 112, and 122 to create and remove items from inventory, hoping to use the stack size to store my "points". No go, none takes negative numbers and creating additional stackable items replaces rather than incrementing stack size.

Hoping someone has tried something similar and can tell me I'm missing a simple way of doing this.

Comments

• AquadrizztAquadrizzt Member Posts: 1,065
    Point-based magic in the Infinity Engine is actually quite hard, and definitely not something I would recommend to someone just starting off. I'd look up @Kwiat_W 's Psionics Unleashed mod, although the comments in that mod are not in English, so it might not be as approachable as you'd like.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • seraglioseraglio Member Posts: 122
    thanks for the replies. You two are the experts, so I appreciate it!