Skip to content

I think I've been spoiled by Planescape:Torment.

themazingnessthemazingness Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 702
So I have this problem with RPGs. Every time I play an amazing one, I have a hard time getting into the next one. And I have this huge library of RPGs I haven't gotten around to finishing or even starting.

This last happened after I finished the Gold Box Pool of Radiance. I tried Hillsfar and Curse of the Azure Bonds, but I just couldn't get into them. I'm sure Azure Bonds is awesome, even if it isn't as good so I'll be coming back to it. I decided Hillsfar is fine to pass over. It was just too cheesy for me. In the same pass I tried some to see if D&D in a different form would help. But I couldn't get into Dragonshard or Demon Stone.

I finally got out of my funk by playing Siege of Dragonspear. It was awesome gameplay. So I was about to go on to BG2 which I never played before. And then PST:EE came out. I started playing, and I was hooked. I didn't have the usual crash and burn since I transitioned from Dragonspear to Planescape:Torment.

The only problem--this is the best RPG I've ever played and now I don't have the attention span when I try to start another one. I tried BG2: Black Pits (because that's how I started my BG1 run), and I wasn't satisfied. I tried a couple of NWN persistent worlds and about gagged on how slow the combat was and how annoying the controls/interface were. I wanted my Infinity Engine back! That and I wanted some good mobs and a full party.

I think I might have a solution. I got through most of the beginning of Baldur's Gate 2 now (not the Black Pits). But still, I miss my quirky characters and excellent plot.

Anybody else feel like once they have the best RPG everything else just feels weak? I have a bunch of D&D and 16-bit era RPGs on my to-play list, and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, but none seem to be satisfactory after Planescape: Torment.

dockaboomskiTeflonAndreaColombosparkleav

Comments