Skip to content

DM Client?

Where is the DM Client? I can't find it anywhere..Help!
CablefishSmokinbob

Comments

  • ShadowMShadowM Member Posts: 571
    Add -dmc to the end of a shortcut of nwmain.exe outside the " "
    ZandelarJuliusBorisovscruffylad
  • ZandelarZandelar Member Posts: 7
    edited November 2017
    Do you mean in the "Target Location" field?
  • ShadowMShadowM Member Posts: 571
    edited November 2017
    Target field
    Zandelarscruffylad
  • ZandelarZandelar Member Posts: 7
    Hmmm... Here is a pic..I am missing something obvious? Is that the right place? b
    CablefishZeldaboch
  • SarmanosSarmanos Member Posts: 16
    edited November 2017
    Zandelar said:

    Hmmm... Here is a pic..I am missing something obvious? Is that the right place? b

    Lose the quotation marks in the Target prompt. It should just be "D:\Games\Beamdog\00000\bin\win32\nwmain.exe -dmc" as an example with no quotations.
    ZandelarShaiden
  • SnottlingSnottling Member Posts: 78
    Hey Zandelar. There should be a space after " and before -dmc.

    Hope that helps. :)

    -Snottling
    ZandelarJuliusBorisovscruffylad
  • ZandelarZandelar Member Posts: 7
    Got it Gents!! Thank you!!!
    SnottlingJuliusBorisov
  • InfamousJoeInfamousJoe Member Posts: 12
    How do you do this on a Mac?
  • IndyWendieGoIndyWendieGo Member Posts: 62

    How do you do this on a Mac?

    If you have Steam, one thing you cooooooould try is adding NwN:EE to Steam as a Non-Steam game and adding the " -dmc" in the target field properties there like this;





    I mean it's a shot in the dark and a temp fix until someone can specify.
  • InfamousJoeInfamousJoe Member Posts: 12
    Hmm.. don't have Steam. Yeah, I know nothing about Macs really, asking for a friend.
  • IndyWendieGoIndyWendieGo Member Posts: 62

    Hmm.. don't have Steam. Yeah, I know nothing about Macs really, asking for a friend.

    Well they can set up a temp account or something just to see if it works. If they want to that is. I'm in the same boat though, I have noooo idea how Macs work. xD
  • nivniv Member, Moderator, Developer Posts: 410
    Yeah, this is not ideal.

    We're going to add a button to Beamdog Client very soon that will allow you to launch the DMC. Until then, you can launch it on the Terminal:
    $ open /Applications/Games/Beamdog\ Library/00829/bin/macos/nwmain.app --args -dmc
    (Adjust path to fit your install - try "Open Game Location" in BDC.)

    A small shell script could be written, made executable, and and aliased to the Desktop for convenience.
    InfamousJoeIndyWendieGo
  • InfamousJoeInfamousJoe Member Posts: 12
    Excellent, thank you.
  • karilynnkarilynn Member Posts: 2
    So I did the -dmc addition to the shortcut target (windows 10 computer). The DM client opens, and I get to the point where I can start to create a DM avatar, but then when hitting the play button, it doesn't create it. Any thoughts on that?
  • karilynnkarilynn Member Posts: 2
    Never mind. My nwn.ini file was trying to direct to a non-existent folder.
  • VentureVenture Member Posts: 5
    edited April 2018
    On the Mac, if you're familiar with Automator at all, you can create a one-step Automator app that will launch just like a standalone DM client app. See this screenshot: https://d.pr/i/OArYjw

    This is the shell script you see in that screenshot:
    open /Users/evan/Beamdog\ Library/00785/bin/macos/nwmain.app --args -dmc

    (You will need to change the path, as the path above has my Mac's user name in it)

    Just save the Automator action as an app, and you can even give it a NWN icon and place it in your Applications folder. I keep it there, and named it "NWN DM." Double clicking it launches the DM client.
  • VerinVerin Member Posts: 19
    edited May 2018
    Is there any plan to actually add DM button as in 1.69? And not from their launcher, but when you start the game exe file?
    Smokinbob
  • LeonidaspoaLeonidaspoa Member Posts: 5
    I downloaded NwN:EE from Beamdog and into C\owner\beamdog library. In Bin\win32 there is no nwmain.exe. Where else would I find it?
    Mermut
  • MacmonogogMacmonogog Member Posts: 4
    I followed the steps here and ijbun1q1gx4fq.png
    m still running in to some issues any advice
  • DazDaz Member Posts: 107
    edited May 2020
    Macmonogog wrote: »
    I followed the steps here and ijbun1q1gx4fq.png
    m still running in to some issues any advice

    Put the -dmc after the ", with a space between the " and -
    JuliusBorisovZwerkules
  • jmrjmr Member Posts: 6
    niv wrote: »
    Yeah, this is not ideal.

    We're going to add a button to Beamdog Client very soon that will allow you to launch the DMC.

    Any news on this front?
  • Carlo_OneCarlo_One Member Posts: 71
    Thanks for raising this. Given the other recent multiplayer-related modifications to the launcher, one hopes restoring the DM client as a launcher option is considered doable.
    JFK
  • ThakeThake Member Posts: 14
    edited November 2021
    Would be cool, cause it doesnt work for me
Sign In or Register to comment.