Skip to content

Just started playing BG2 again last night (Then I found out about all of this)...In need of advice

Hello all! I am looking forward to getting to know you and become a part of this community, if at all possible. I have loved this game since I was a kid and since I was a kid my understanding of the game has continuosly evolved, though not always advanced.

I started playing BG 2 last night, and on top of some advice on making a character that I can really stick with (Dungeon Masters and D&D vets, I really could use your insights based on a light "personality profile" I'll be posting in a second. Kinda like the "ask questions to determine your class" type of games).
Since finding out that a BG1 enhanced edition is coming out in eight days, I'm wondering if I should shelf the character I got and wait, since as someone who really gets into the RP-aspects of the character, it'd be too weird to play both simultaenously. I want the char I start in the Enhanced BG1 to be the one that finishes in Throne of Bhaal.

That said, the ONLY class and race I've beaten the game on, and played multiple times, was an Elven Ranger/Stalker. Race-wise I'm pretty set on being a half-elf this time around. I like the way it fits in with Sarevok. I, like some of you, probably, create little nuanced histories in my head and conversations to fit in. If my char is a half-elf I'd like Sarevok's mother and Durango Teryn Vigil's mother to be the same. Except Bhaal was in the form of an elf, obviously.