Skip to content

Well met, Forum!

Heya! I wanted to say hello to all the forum members and introduce myself. I had never played Baldur's Gate before, (except for Dark Alliance 1/2 on PS/Xbox) and found a copy of both games at a thrift store! I have recently just started playing, and have familiarized myself with the mechanics of D&D 2.5E, and found to my amazement, there is an Enhanced Edition coming soon!

So, after a week or so of reading D.Simpson's guides, and messing around in Candlekeep, I found the BGT program that enables the BG:2 engine to work for BG:1, and have been playing for some days now.

I have some experience with Pen & Paper RPGs, as I had played Vampire: The Masquerade for a few months. So getting use to terminology and mechanics of such things as THAC0 and AC was a little easier. :)

Anyway, I just wanted to say that I had always heard of Baldur's Gate, as I love RPGs, but never got into it before. I've heard it has a great story.

I have purchased the BG: EE from Beamdog, and am currently installing the preloader! We all have about a workweek left to wait, so I invite anyone who wants to pass the time with me, to do so! I would love to tell you about my experiences so far as a (well researched) newbie!

Comments

• KilivitzKilivitz Member Posts: 1,459
    I welcome you in behalf of... well, myself. I'm not exactly notorious here.

We have polls!

(In all seriousness, welcome. You won't regret playing BG, or BG:EE)
  • AscerionAscerion Member Posts: 271
    Thank you. Heh, I saw the polls. I know BG is famous for it's story, but I'll be damned if I can get far enough to enjoy it. I seem to be OCD about making the "perfect" character!

Leaving Candlekeep for the 22nd time... Okay, Xzar and Montoron, then the diamond in the tree...
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
    edited November 2012
    Ascerion said:

I seem to be OCD about making the "perfect" character!