Skip to content

Berserker/Thief dual class

YosharianYosharian Member Posts: 67
Hello there chaps, I'm considering a special playthrough for the release of BG:EE, a no-magic playthrough where I only use characters that are non-primary spellcasters (e.g. Paladins allowed cos their spells are ****e anyway) or not spellcasters at all (so no mages or clerics!).

To this end I started considering my main character and decided on a Berserker/Thief dual, however I'm not experienced with this class type so I have some questions for you guys. Note that since I'm playing BG:EE this will be virtually vanilla, only with the modifications/improvements that come with BG:EE obviously. (I will NOT be using illegal stuff like Fake Talk, although I'm going to abuse the **** out of traps =D)

Selection of classes:

http://www.playithardcore.com/pihwiki/index.php?title=Baldur's_Gate:_Classes_and_Kits#Fighter

I chose Berserker because of the immunities, basically. I've been wondering how the **** I'm going to manage against vampires, umber hulks, etc etc without them. Enrage gives immunity to: charm, hold, fear, maze, imprisonment, stun, confusion, feeblemind, level drain and sleep. (according to IPIHC) This stuff is gonna be crucial. Loss of ranged specialization: pfft who gives a ****!

My only other thought was wizardslayer, but I tossed that one in the bin because I can't be arsed to wait for Use Any Item to overcome the no-magic items rule... No way I can cope without them in this playthrough. I am NOT interested in Kensai as I don't believe it fits the Fighter/Thief playstyle that I'm intending (straight up fighting with some scouting/ability use as necessary).

Any comments or suggestions?

Level distribution:

Fighter level progression:
http://www.playithardcore.com/pihwiki/index.php?title=Baldur's_Gate:_Progression_Charts#Fighters_and_Barbarians