Skip to content

DRM - Service vs Product

First, I very much like your work, from the idea and concept to the implementation.

For this reason I came here to support you by purchasing one copy, I know that your success with BGEE matters whether you will move forward with BG2 and beyond, so I am all for it. I own the original BG and its expansion, and while I do not expect to have the time to play BGEE anytime soon, I reasoned to add the enhanced digital edition to my personal archive.

Here is what put me off. I am an indie developer myself and we discussed extensively whether using DRM at all. My reasoning is typically this: if you can add a non-intrusive DRM that the users can validate on their own, it diminishes the value of the product only slightly. If you add a DRM that requires an action on your part, online activation for example, you technically change the nature of the product to a service that the user can only use with your consent. My position on this is that I am normally not prepared to pay more than $10 for a service of this kind unless it is exceptionally good.

If I understood correctly (please correct me if I am wrong) you did exactly this, you turned BGEE into a service that can only be used with your consent. I believe this will harm your success, because you are putting off people who would support you out of their goodwill, and I strongly urge you to reconsider this feature. After all Gabe Newell pointed frequently and rightly to abundant data that confirms that sales do not change after a crack is available, and the success of GOG tells its own story.

Comments

• markthesharkmarktheshark Member Posts: 57
    Its not fair to blame Overhaul for what is minimally intrusive DRM. Wizards/Hasbro is more than a little protective of their copyright. There is zero chance they would have allowed BGEE to begin with without some sort of DRM.
  • Greenman019Greenman019 Member Posts: 206
    edited November 2012