Skip to content

Elven Fighter/Mage for EE series (*spoilers!*)

FredSRichardsonFredSRichardson Member Posts: 465
[EDIT: changed 2H path a bit]

Well, I had the hardest time with weapon proficiencies and I hate having regrets. This is my first time playing an Elven F/M.

I think I understand the constraints a bit better now for this type of character. You have 6 proficiency points to play with in BGEE and you get the last 2 of these by level 6/5 (65K exp, so not at all near the end but maybe around chapter 5). The 7th pip comes at 500K exp (lvls 9/10) which is the SoD cap - I'm guessing you would be a few chapters into BG2 before hitting this but I'm not sure. Then the 8th pip comes at 2M exp which could be late game BG2 (but maybe hitting Watchers Keep early changes that).

So, my point with all that is for the F/M to get the most out of the first few chapters of BG2, you want to make good use of those first 6 points. I'm sure there's a concise guide on this, but I didn't manage to find one. Note that by the time you finish ToB you have 12 proficiency pips. The problem is that the first ones are really spread out and then you get them every 4 levels into ToB.

From what I can tell, there rare two basic proficiency routes for this type of character:

Note#1: for both of these I'm skipping out on putting any points into longbows. It is a bit inconvenient for BG1 where you'll have to rely on other party members for missile weapons. You still get +1 for being an Elf which might help?

Note#2: I believe Elves get +1 thac0 for short and long swords as well as all bows.

Note#3: I'm writing all this down because I made a pretty sub-optimal choice at the start of bg1ee: I put 6 points into longswords, longbows and two-weapon style. This might be okay for bg1 only, but will drive me nuts into bg2.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Path#1: two-hander:
two-handed weapon style: +
quarterstaff: ++
two-handed swords: ++