Skip to content

I think I need help from a native English speaker. This is related to dialogues of Dorn Il-Khan.

Joan_DaroJoan_Daro Member Posts: 112
It's not something specific; I can usually understand where his quest is going ("kill them all and have done with it"), so I didn't pay him extra attention.
Then yesterday a friend commented that "you whayfaced cur" is not a phrase most people would use to insult their enemies...
So we dug up some of his dialogues, we were not native speakers, but at least I'm sure not all half-orcs talk that way.
I just couldn't pin this down, but it feels like something is very... strange... here. I know that I'm not good at English but I *constantly* need to google certain words he used, and the way he phrase most sentences... have you seen the way Gromnir talks?? You guys are both half-orcs and from the same tribe too, so I take this has nothing to do with childhood education??
I just can't describe the way he speak, WHY is he talking like THAT???
*frustrated*

edit: Another friend told me he sounds like Rexxar. Oh.
Post edited by Joan_Daro on
JuliusBorisov

Comments

• BladeDancerBladeDancer Member Posts: 477
    I wish I knew...
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    Its an attempt at using older words to make Dorn's dialogue sound less contemporary. Phrases like that are english, but not really used anymore.
  • UnderstandMouseMagicUnderstandMouseMagic Member Posts: 2,147

It's "whey faced" not "whay", means pale, sickly looking, associated with going white with fear. Comes from "curds and whey" to invoke the "milk" association, ie weak, childish, cowardly.

I think the idea trying to be put across is that Dorn is, philosophical(?), a thinker(?), well read(?), sees below the surface(?)
    or up his own backside, you can take your pick.

As I'm English, the best way to describe the effect I think they are trying to create would be to say,