Skip to content

Duel-classing Thief?

Hey, so while I'm not new to the game, I AM a bit new to the idea of duel-classing, as I used to just multi-class. While the question is really more pertinent to BG II, I still want to ask. Is it possible to duel-class a thief into a ranger? I don't like the idea of duel-classing into most of the other options, as there's no backstab option for most of them. I know you can't multi-class as a thief/Ranger, but is it at all different duel-classing? Or am I still limited to fighter, mage, or cleric? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• CaptRoryCaptRory Member Posts: 1,660
    I don't think you can dual class into any combination you can't multiclass with. I'm pretty sure Ranger/Thief isn't an allowed combo. I wish it were though, it's one of my favorite thematic combinations.
  • Magical_TrevorMagical_Trevor Member Posts: 57
    @CaptRory

Dangit... Do you know WHY though? I mean, that's what I wanted to duel-class into! I mean, they both have hide skills, wear the same armors, have virtually the same weapon access... Dangit.
  • CaptRoryCaptRory Member Posts: 1,660
    Um.... Because... the Kool-Aid man is red?
  • Time4TiddyTime4Tiddy Member Posts: 262
    edited November 2012
    There are some lore related reasons, such as why only non-humans can multi-class (longer life spans). The only Ranger combo allowed is Ranger/Cleric multi, and then only if you are half-elf.

With thief you get fighter, cleric, or mage as a multi or dual class option, or Fighter/Mage/Thief as a multi only. If you are trying to make a "Ranger/Thief" honestly there is almost no difference from a Fighter/Thief. The thief levels give the fighter stealth, the fighter levels give the thief higher THAC0, and higher hp - the only thing a Ranger really gets beyond that is a favored enemy, charm animal, and a few spells that you can't really even access in BG1.