Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Neverwinter Nights: Enhanced Edition has been released! Visit nwn.beamdog.com to make an order. NWN:EE FAQ is available.
Soundtracks for BG:EE, SoD, BG2:EE, IWD:EE, PST:EE are now available in the Beamdog store.
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

What’s up with dual classing and proficiencies?

I had a fighter 3 dual class into a druid.

He had *** in scimitar.

Upon reaching level 4 as a druid, I was unable to make it **** in scimitar. I was, however, able to up my sling to **.

Am I stuck at *** in scimitar? If ***** isn’t possible, I might switch this character to a mutilclass f/d.

Comments

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 9,692
    edited November 1
    You can't reach **** until 6th level, and ***** until 9th level, period, regardless of dual-class antics.
    Klorox said:

    Am I stuck at *** in scimitar?

    No... although that is the way the rules are supposed to work.

    DreadKhan
  • KloroxKlorox Member Posts: 733

    You can't reach **** until 6th level, and ***** until 9th level, period, regardless of dual-class antics.

    Klorox said:

    Am I stuck at *** in scimitar?

    No... although that is the way the rules are supposed to work.
    Thank you for the clarification.

    I’m not sure what you mean about the way rules are supposed to work. I played 2e AD&D for many years and there was proficient and specialized.

    The rules BG and IWD uses are created for the video game.

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 9,692
    2E had GM, in some optional rule or other. I don't have a link offhand, but somewhere (Complete Fighter's maybe?) it says that if you dual from fighter to something else you can't spend nonwarrior weapon proficiencies toward specialization if that specialization is not part of your new class' abilities.

    Beyond that, 2E is generally very clear about dual-classing being a clean break between one career and another. You can't advance skills or abilities in your first class after dualling. Bioware changed this - I can only surmise because someone on the dev team was indulging a puerile power fantasy about an archmage who is inexplicably more leet with a sword than a deity-level ranger or paladin. ;)

  • sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 3,855
    in the original IWD if you were a fighter and dual classed over to another class that can only have 1 proficiency slot then you could never add a proficiency slot pass 1 in any of your weapons, so if you were a level 7 fighter with 4 proficiency slots in a weapon and dualed over to cleric and hit level 8 it would never allow you to add a 5th slot to that weapon

    and even with that said, the original IWD would never allow you to have more than 4 slots in bows regardless of your fighter level ( i guess even the devs knew how OP their bows were )

  • subtledoctorsubtledoctor Member Posts: 9,692
    sarevok57 said:

    in the original IWD if you were a fighter and dual classed over to another class that can only have 1 proficiency slot then you could never add a proficiency slot pass 1 in any of your weapons, so if you were a level 7 fighter with 4 proficiency slots in a weapon and dualed over to cleric and hit level 8 it would never allow you to add a 5th slot to that weapon

    Right. It's one of the things IWD got right, and then BG2 got wrong for no good reason that I can tell. (It's kind of like Bioware were a bunch of D&D players who suddenly found themselves playing the role of DM, and acted like gleeful, gluttonous kids in a candy store with no adults around instead of asking themselves "how can we be a good DM?")

    sarevok57
  • sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 3,855
    well in the original bg2 they changed the weapon proficiency table bonuses for "balance" reasons ( lol ) so it didnt really matter if your dual classed fighters where hitting 5 proficiency points at level 8 in my opinion

    what they have going on now in the EEs is fine with me, i just finished a IWD run and i was able to get my 5 proficiency points at level 12 for my wizerd and level 12 for my cleric, both which were in IWD still, so tis was all good

Sign In or Register to comment.