Skip to content

ART NEEDED - Baldur's Gate Magic (MtG) project

Raistlin82Raistlin82 Member Posts: 256
edited March 2019 in Fan Creations
Hello, all! :smile:
I've been working for the last five years at a "block" of 3 Baldur's Gate themed Magic the Gathering card sets (called Baldur's Gate, Shadows of Amn and Throne of Bhaal).
The cards are made using the Magic Set Editor 2 software.
This project is absolutely just for fun, and there is no commercial intention or profit behind it.
Again, zero money involved for anyone. :smiley:
Hopefully, this should mean that the holders to the rights of Magic the Gathering, Dungeons & Dragons, Forgotten Realms, Baldur's Gate and Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition won't object to this project. :cold_sweat:
This also obviously means, since I'm not making any money off of it myself, that it would be impossible for me to commission, paying, aaaaaaall the illustrations needed for the project.

The project is supposed to cap between 720 and 810 cards.
I am currently at 566 completed cards (and counting).

However...
I NEED YOUR HELP!

When I say the cards are completed, I mean that their game design (up to and including flavor text) is done... but not necessarily the artwork.
I have collected many artworks in these five years (with the artists' permission), but being Baldur's Gate a very niche subject, some artworks are harder to find.
So, I hope to rally the BG community to support me in this titanic task.
I'm asking you, if you're willing to help, to either find for me or draw yourselves several BG-themed artworks.

Here are the standard requirements for the illustrations:
1) COLOR
I've found that some of the most wonderful Baldur's Gate illustrations are done in black and white.
Alas, the MtG standards demand that they should be in color.
Alternatively, if you are good at coloring, you might (with the artist's permission) color somebody else's artwork (in fact, there's at least one I absolutely want to be colored);
2) BACKGROUND