Skip to content

Weapon selection help! Cleric 28/RDD 10/Bard 2

haven't played in YEARS. I've picked my build, now I just need to decide on what weapon type to go through with this character.

I'll be going all the way through the expansions (HOTU is my fav).

What do you guys think? What weapon type has the best options?

Comments

• EnialusMeliamneEnialusMeliamne Member Posts: 399
    edited July 2019
    Since your strength will be ludicrously high, pick something with an 18-20 crit range. Scimitar would fit nicely, though I have ZERO knowledge on what weapon drops are like in HOTU.
  • MeandreMeandre Member Posts: 38
    Is there a reason you want to restrict yourself to a weapon type?
    It's great for builds with levels in Weapon Master or fighter (and the weapon customization options in HoTU), but with the Red Dragon Disciple's high strength score you can beat the campaigns with anything (2-handed) you can find along the way. Easily.

Personally, I find the flexibility that comes from not specializing on a single weapon type to make the campaigns much more enjoyable. Less of those "Oh, I found a nice weapon! I just wish I'd be a longsword..."-moments. :D

That said, there's some fine options available for all weapons throughout the campaigns. And you can never go wrong with greatswords. ;)
  • SillyfishSillyfish Member Posts: 17
    The build uses WF, Improved Crit, Overwhelming Crit, Devastating Crit and EWF, so I'd really like to focus on just one type of weapon. The build guide came with a shield was was using Bastard Swords, but meh, I don't really like them.

I know in BG1 and 2 and the Icewind Dale series there are specific weapons to build for. Crom Feyr, the Katana in BG2, etc. Are there examples like that in NWN?> I honestly can't remember.

Are there not specific weapons that are just cool?
  • sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975