Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Dark Dreams of Furiae - a new module for NWN:EE! Buy now
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

Monk's fist + off hand weapon

matteomacc89matteomacc89 Member Posts: 2
Simple question: is the combo "main hand fist + off hand weapon" considered as dual wielding? Considering that monks don't have access to the dual wielding spec, does it mean I get a penalty to my main hand fist if I equip an off hand weapon?
If there's no penalty, then is it mathematically better to always have any weapon in the off hand rather than nothing? Thanks

Comments

  • jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 475
    Yes, it is considered dual-wielding and takes the full -4/-8 THAC0 penalty. There are a few situations you might consider it with a high-level monk (because you've got more than enough THAC0 anyway against most foes), but there's no way it's ever worthwhile at BG1 levels.

    There's also another disadvantage - because the off-hand weapon is almost certainly shorter-range than the monk unarmed attacks, you'll have to get closer to the enemies to attack if you put something in the off hand.

    matteomacc89
  • matteomacc89matteomacc89 Member Posts: 2
    jmerry wrote: »
    Yes, it is considered dual-wielding and takes the full -4/-8 THAC0 penalty. There are a few situations you might consider it with a high-level monk (because you've got more than enough THAC0 anyway against most foes), but there's no way it's ever worthwhile at BG1 levels.

    There's also another disadvantage - because the off-hand weapon is almost certainly shorter-range than the monk unarmed attacks, you'll have to get closer to the enemies to attack if you put something in the off hand.

    Thanks a lot!

  • Grond0Grond0 Member Posts: 5,872
    jmerry wrote: »
    Yes, it is considered dual-wielding and takes the full -4/-8 THAC0 penalty. There are a few situations you might consider it with a high-level monk (because you've got more than enough THAC0 anyway against most foes), but there's no way it's ever worthwhile at BG1 levels.

    There's also another disadvantage - because the off-hand weapon is almost certainly shorter-range than the monk unarmed attacks, you'll have to get closer to the enemies to attack if you put something in the off hand.

    There are a couple of situations where dual-wielding may be worth it in BGEE.
    - where the target is incapacitated (and all attacks automatically hit). Even if you're playing solo, a monk can potentially do that himself with stunning blows.
    - where the target is scripted to run away when attacked (typically it still wouldn't be worth it due to the THAC0 penalty, but a low-level monk playing LoB may require a 20 to hit whether dual-wielding or not). Even targets scripted to run away will fight back if you get close to them, but the monk's range to hit is determined by his fists, irrespective of the use of another weapon. Here's an example of a monk attacking with a dagger equipped in his off-hand (which has a range of 0 as a main hand weapon), while still at range 2.
    870n9cy6v3z1.jpg

    Seorr
Sign In or Register to comment.