Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!


Dark Dreams of Furiae - a new module for NWN:EE! Buy now
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

Base class: Shadowkeeper?


What does "Base Class" refer to in Shadowkeeper/EE Keeper?

I've made a multiclass mage/cleric and simply removed the "base class" in Shadowkeeper. My PC is still a mage/cleric, but with the effect that he now receives 1 extra spell slot per level as if he is a specialist mage.

Do anyone of you know the technicals of Shadowkeeper/the game what this actually entails?


Thank you!


  • jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 629
    Characters and creatures without a kit are intended to have the "Base Class" value in the kit field - just look at NPCs like Aerie, Anomen, Nalia, or Viconia. An empty (zero) value there functions the same as "Base Class" in most ways, but there are a few exceptions/bugs relating to how specialist mages are handled.

    An up to date (EE) version of the game won't give you specialist bonus spells for having kit zero, but it will still give you the 15% spell learning penalty that specialists take outside their school. All recruitable versions of Imoen, in both BG and BG2, suffer from this.

    I don't know the code details, but I suspect this comes from legacy BG material; specialist mages were the only kits in the original BG, and some things slipped over when the kit system was greatly expanded in BG2.

  • MWOMWO Member Posts: 206
    Thank you for the comment.

    I've the latest EE Keeper, but I'm still receiving the extra spells per day for removing the base kit line.

  • jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 629
    The version comment was about the version of the game itself. It doesn't matter what tool you used to edit the save; any Keeper version would make the change in the same way.

  • AewyrvenAewyrven Member Posts: 228
    I dont understand.... you're getting a bonus spell as if a specialist with a mage cleric? You can't do that unless you dual class.... just make a mage cleric naturally and ee it to the race you want outside if elf or half elf..... no other race can multi mage cleric... so all youd have to do is mod the race.

Sign In or Register to comment.