Skip to content

Adding Spells as Innate to Other Class

FB4FB4 Member Posts: 6
edited March 2021 in General Modding
I've tried searching for an answer but came up with very little (as lots of content has been deleted or old links).

I'm using Near Infinity and was wondering how one goes about adding spells as innate abilities? I'm talking adding a purely wizard spell, like Spell strike and adding it as an innate ability to a fighter. Is this possible?

I have zero experience in programming etc. so any answer, the more rudimentary the better. I've found workarounds by doing trial games, comparing/contrasting, and then copying/pasting/deleting things like weapon proficiencies etc. But this one example has me lost again.

Is something like this even possible? I know some thing are hardcoded but know that certain things like Larloch's minor drain are used in mage classes as well as innate abilities.

I've tried adding lines with NI in the Known Spell and Memorization info lines respectively but nothing shows up. More editing beyond that seems to crash the game.

Comments

• jmerryjmerry Member Posts: 3,829
    Whether a spell is innate, arcane, divine, or psionic is a property of the spell. You have to make a copy of the spell and then change that property in the copy.

Then, where the spell shows up on the character is a separate property, belonging to the ability that does things. You can have an innate spell show up on the spellcasting button, or an arcane spell on the item button.
  • FB4FB4 Member Posts: 6
    jmerry wrote: »
    Whether a spell is innate, arcane, divine, or psionic is a property of the spell. You have to make a copy of the spell and then change that property in the copy.

Then, where the spell shows up on the character is a separate property, belonging to the ability that does things. You can have an innate spell show up on the spellcasting button, or an arcane spell on the item button.