Skip to content

Weidu command line: BGEE dialog.tlk is reported to have 34000 strings, expected 71404; can't append

ThunderburpThunderburp Member Posts: 51
edited May 2021 in General Modding
Hi,

Total Weidu noob here, using the unmodded BGEE 2.6.5.0 with SoD installed, with Weidu 24700 dropped in the main game folder.

I'm trying to use it to append 101 string entries to dialog.tlk with a bit of automation. I'd rather not climb the entry step to proper Weidu mod making just yet due to time constraints though, so I went with appending from command line. Here's the commands used:
weidu --game "PATH_TO_BG1EE"
weidu --use-lang en
weidu --strapp "MY_STRING_1" --strapp "MY_STRING_2" --strapp "MY_STRING_3" --tlkout newdialog.tlk

Weidu reports 34000 entries, and 34101 entries after I switch to the new dialog.tlk, so it works. But when loading game resources in Near Infinity, it can be seen that there are 71404 string refs, and all the ones that I appended have been overridden. A few checks with both Weidu and NI suggest that strings 0-33999 as displayed by NI should be those from lang\en_US\dialog.tlk (= newdialog.tlk moved and renamed) that Weidu can see, while 34000-71403 come from elsewhere or something. Anything I appended has been replaced with that other source of string entries.

So... can Weidu append to the right place through command line alone?
Post edited by Thunderburp on

Comments

• argent77argent77 Member Posts: 3,433
    If you purchased the game from GOG or Steam you have to install DLC Merger first. WeiDU won't recognize the SoD expansion, otherwise.
  • GraionDilachGraionDilach Member Posts: 581
    edited May 2021
    You need to install a DLC merger mod before you apply your own changes to dialog.tlk otherwise you get conflicts with SoD. The number differences are coming from your mod editing basegame tlk and NI loading SoD's.