Skip to content

Trouble with Creating a Custom HakFile to Override Existing Tilesets with Texture Maps

Hello everyone.

I have been working on using ai programs to upscale textures from existing tilesets to make higher res textures and then create texture maps from those, and then put them together into a hak to override textures from the original hak. However, I've gotten stuck. I used Esrgan to upscale the textures Zwerkules medieval city tileset, as he kindly provided a version with uncompiled models, and then I used Materialize to create diffuse, normal, height, metallic, and gloss maps. Then I converted these into DDS files and MTR files with NWN Crunch (Which also converts the gloss and metallic maps to roughness and specular maps), turned them into a Hak file, and then tried importing them into the toolset with the original hak. However, the maps only seem to be applied when I exclude the roughness map and then everything looks very shiny and plastic. I am a noob so I am kind of learning by trial and error here, but I carefully read through the wiki and it seems like roughness maps are supported. I have looked at haks from other custom content creators, like Pstemarie's Dark Ages project, and found that they all exclude roughness maps, but with the prior mentioned project it does not look shiny or plastic.

Any help on how to solve this problem would be much appreciated!

Comments

• TarotRedhandTarotRedhand Member Posts: 1,481
    edited July 2021
    First things first, read this post I made just over a month ago and check the size of the filenames you are generating.

Another thought, your roughness map is greyscale isn't it? Or to put it another way it should only use a single colour channel. To see how many channels each map should have look at this page on the wiki -

Standard material inputs

Another thing, try using TGA files in the first instance. Once you have them working you can always use crunch to convert to DDS.