Skip to content

BG:EE Update Request

CallirgosCallirgos Member Posts: 105
Hello. I'm a big fan of Baldurs Gate, and Baldurs Gate:EE
I'm also a combat designer and have been playing this specific game on and off for many years.

I'd like to bring up the boss battles of Mulahey and Seravok as two gameplay moments where the game seems broken on normal and Core difficulties.

I think some rework on these two boss battles would help the game remain a staple of RPG game history.

I believe the skeleton summoning script by Mulahey is also broken and can result in multiple uses that puts the player at an extreme statistical disadvantage. Additionally, whie I understand that Hold Person was in the original game at this stage, I would recommend that Mulahey not use hold person until later in the boss fight (perhaps after 50% health loss) and perhaps even scripted that he doesn't do it if the skeletons have already been summoned. At level 3 players are not very resiliant, though this is the perfect time to introduce them to some incapacitating magic... just not something that incapacitates the entire party in a crowded room... surrounded by skeletons.

The Seravok battle has no build or tension. It seems altered from the original game in its ruthless efficiency. I believe this is combination of Enemy AI, spells, and these specific enemies being reworked. This part of the game is beyond a fun challenge and difficulty and requires abusing game systems in an unnatural way to pass/win.
The Wizard: Should focus on the teleportation aspect, and not engage in party killing control spells unti lthe player has had some amount of time to digest the movement aspect of this character. (this character is the real threat of the battle. It might even be best to have him enter combat in a later round)
The Archer: Fine. Though he could make use of normal movement more and position himself from time to time.