Skip to content

Critical thinking in BG.

I was a married father when this game came out in 1998. I started gaming again, by doctor recommendation, after a traumatic head injury. Gaming also relieves anxiety, that's true for most I believe. My age puts me near the beginning of video games, many quarters were dropped in various machines. I studied PAC-MAN and Donkey Kong strategy books. I really spent A LOT on Williams Defender and Galaxian both of which I flipped the score on. You could do that back then. Girls came around and I left it all behind. I was shocked when a, $300 a visit, neurologist suggested, I go back for more at almost 23 years old. I bought all the remade oldies, some new Lucus Arts stuff. My kid brother knew I used to roleplay D&D and Gamma World, he turned me on to Pool of Radiance. That's how I eventually found Baldur's Gate. I tell you this, because now that I'm widowed, I have time to spend watching Gamers game. For the most part they all play like children, the developers play to this, by tweaking things to address complaints. Baldur's Gate was designed by adults for adults, but they understood where their margins would meet, and wanted a new generation to experience roleplay. You could rob anyone and actually access inventory of any successful pickpockets NPC. Take and give items. You could kill any moving thing in the game with or without consequences. Depending on which character you initiate dialogues they would change. Party members mattered. The changes didn't stop there however. The journal had a perception of being broken, by this time, was on my second playthrough. I realized it wasn't. The quest wouldn't show complete, if it was resolved incorrectly. I semi hack and slashed my first playthrough, I couldn't find my way out of Candle Keep for two nights. I wasn't "common core" educated and had to critically think every day trouble-shooting problems. There weren't a lot of resources, at the time, I was on the front line, it being so ne