Skip to content

Full series run, weapon choices for a Cav, Keldorn in party

I'm dusting off this game for another run through the series. I figure I'll do something I've never done before and keep Keldorn. G's Ward will also be a Cavalier. The rest of the party (and their weapons) will be as follows:

Jah (staves and spears)
Minsc (2h swords and maces in bg1, building to flails and bastard swords in bg2)
Yoshi->Imoen (who cares
Sarevok (2h swords and halberds)

Anyway, with two paladins in the party, that leaves me with some questions.

Which character gets the holy sword? Does it go to Keldorn so that he becomes a super inquisitor? Or does GW get it to spread out the dispels?

If it does go to Keldorn, what does GW take? Definitely axes, but that seems like an odd weapon for a paladin, in my opinion (and is mostly taken for a good ranged option). There will already be three people who can handle 2h sword (though minsc is likely to DW FoA and DoE). Another would be too much competition. Bastard swords are still kinda available, but they are few and come late unless I cheese (which I won't).

I'm kinda feeling like I'm giving everyone else the "good" weapons, and all that's left for GW are the second rate ones.

But, with this party combo, how would you tool up GW? Thanks!

Comments

• Balrog99Balrog99 Member Posts: 7,367
    You can't go wrong with longsword. There are a lot of good ones with cool special abilities. Add bastard sword later for Purifier and you and Keldorn can rock those holy swords together!
  • atcDaveatcDave Member Posts: 2,157
    edited February 19
    I would usually have the pc Cavalier dual wielding. Start with long sword, add flail in BG1. Then bastard sword for Purifier.

your main character and Keldorn will be a powerful team.
  • KnellerKneller Member Posts: 438
    atcDave wrote: »
    I would usually have the pc Cavalier dual wielding. Start with long sword, add flail in BG1. Then bastard sword for Purifier.