Skip to content

Weapons & their properties.

Hello! First I would like to say that I am a novice when it comes to BG and AD&D2.0 (3.5 and Pathfinder however I know and enjoy playing very much.)

I read both the BG:EE manuals, some of the more entertaining manuals I have ever read by the way, however after finishing reading them I am still left with a lot of questions.

I am making a fighter for my first serious playthrough and as a fighter I naturally want to be as knowledgable as possible when it comes to weapons and armor in BG:EE.

So, unto the actual questions (finally); Do bashing(B), piercing(P) and slashing(S) have different effects depending on who you are using them on? Will a skeleton have DR (damage reduction) vs (P) & (S) ?

What about plate armor? Is it better to swing a battle hammer at a opponent clad in plate armor rather than trying to stick him with a sword?

I also wonder about weapons like the morningstar, is it considered both (B) & (P)?

When it comes to weapons with reach, like spears and polearms. Do they behave any differently than others?

Do crossbows have any sort of armor piercing effect?

Well that's it for now, thanks for reading and good luck to you all on your travels through the Sword Coast!

Comments

• valkyvalky Member Posts: 386
    edited November 2012
    I can assure you 1 thing: Skeletons do have 90% DR against piercing/slashing/missile :)
    And further the effects of different enemies are taken in account as well, so you hit a plate wearer with slashing weapons less often than using bludgeoning, cause their AC-bonus of having such an armor is calculated.