Skip to content

Challenging playthrough and my fear of restartitis.

Hi, this is my first post here, although I am reading this forum for a long time.

I have been playing BG1, BG2, PST and IWD2 for about 20 years, but always missed out IWD1. About 2 months back I bought it on GOG and what should I say... it is awesome. I have one comeplete playthrough with a party of six on core rules with 18 rolls in the three main stats and max hp roll.

I started a new run this evening after being hit multiple times by restartitis. To have a challenge I gave me some restrictions: Max 5 rerolls at character creation and only redistributing 2 points. Game mode is insane without higher dmg and no exp bonus and random hp rolls.

My evil team consist of a Black Guard, Kensai, Priest of Talos, Bounty Hunter, Druid and a Sorc.
The stats are OK I do not have a main stat below 10 and I had a good luck with HP rolls.

Now I am in the Vail of Shadows in the room before Kresselack. Actually the playthrough was doing a lot of fun and I like my team. But I feel it might get a little bit too challenging... Usually I try to avoid resting too often, but this time it is necessary... Probably it is a bit harder because I do not have a strong range weapon user but this is the way I want it. Also the ACs are pretty bad due to no min/maxing Dexterty.

Now my main question is - do you think it will help to enable higher exp with insane mode, or will it make the play through too easy later on?

I am afraid of restartitis hitting me again and want to find the perfect balance in difficulty ;-).

Thanks for your help/suggestions!

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975
    that extra XP will make the game way too easy at least in my opinion

i always play on insane with double damage and always have the extra XP turned off, with that extra XP turned on you just grow up levels way to quickly and the game really does become easy