Skip to content

Magma Mephit Hits After Death

I started a fresh game with SCS. I am in Irenicus's beginning dungeon and noticed that after I killed magma mephitis, I was still getting 1 hp fire damage per round. No enemies left in room. I removed all my metal armor, thinking that would solve it, but it did not.

Is there a reason I am getting damage?

Comments

• SirBatinceSirBatince Member Posts: 882
    pretty sure they use a weaker Agannazar Scorcher.
  • ataler_ohataler_oh Member Posts: 9
    But they are dead. How are they hurting me every round when I killed them all?
  • ArdanisArdanis Member Posts: 1,736
    Agannazar-like effects work like this, it's the engine thing since original BGs. I'm not a programmer to be certain, but I suspect such behavior is very unfeasible to fix.
    Aedan
  • Grond0Grond0 Member Posts: 7,305
    edited January 2019
    Think of poison behavior. You presumably wouldn't expect poison to stop damaging you just because you'd killed the original source of that. There are a number of such sources of continuing damage - like bleeding for instance.
    Aedan
    Boo. That kind of kills it for me. Poison at least notifies you with an icon, which provides me options to heal myself.

This damage is different because there is no heads up on why I am being damaged. It does not explain or provide measures to counter it, which takes me out of world.

I am trying to love this game, but may have to hang it up. I owned the original disks with cloth map back in early 2000s and desperately wanted to love this game. Things like this where I am questioning the rules of game keep taking me out of world. No where does fire damage work like this in game, so it must be a bug.
  • Grond0Grond0 Member Posts: 7,305
    If you turn on the battle text you will see the notification not only tells you the amount of damage, but the type of that - in this case fire. You can thus use any form of fire protection or immunity to help with that.