Skip to content

Near Infinity, item edit question.

CaloNordCaloNord Member Posts: 1,809
edited January 2019 in General Modding
Greeting all,

I'm looking to edit the duration of the Bard Hat (BDHELM11 if I remember correctly) so the bards song will linger longer than 2 rounds. Is it possible to edit the duration of the effect from 2 rounds to, for example, 2 hours?

If so, how? Changing the 'duration' section from 200 to larger numbers hasn't had any effect. The NI is a little unclear on what it should be changed to and which sections need to be edited.

I'm fairly new to NI so learning as we go.

Comments

• ArunsunArunsun Member Posts: 1,592
    One of the fields of the modify duration effect (on the 4th row in NI) is called percentage and is set to 300%
    Bard song normally lasts 1 round. The Bard hat increases it to 3 rounds (hence 300%).
    Now, 1 turn is 10 round, which is 60 seconds, and one in-game hour is 5 turns ( 300 seconds, 50 rounds).
    So to increase the duration to 1 hour, you need to set this percentage field to 5000%. This should work.

The duration field depends on what you set in the timing mode and is ignored if you set the value to instant/while equipped or other non-time dependent timing modes.
    GusindaCaloNordlolien
  • CaloNordCaloNord Member Posts: 1,809
    edited January 2019

Is the Bard song an odd one to modify, I believe this is correct however it is having exactly the same effect as before, no longer.

What am I missing here? :/

Post edited by CaloNord on
    I just tested it and it seems to work on an unmodded install. I used a skald song for the example.
    There seems to be a cap at 32767 (2^15) after which the bard song simply ceases to work on my install, but 5000 definitely seems to work.
    The only difference I see between your effect and mine is that duration is set to 0 on my install, but I think this shouldn't matter.