Skip to content

NWN Player Bic File to HTML

I wanted a tool that could take a bic and print out the level progressions for some of my old builds so I wrote this tool / website. It uploads a bic and reverse engineers the class, abilities, feat, skill and spell progressions by level.

It is built using ruby on rails and the nwn-lib gem. I'm sure it still has some bugs and I need to work on monks and rangers bab/attacks a bit more but it should work for most builds. It is also fugly and output using html tables, but hey, I'm a backend dev.

The url is https://nwnboneyard.herokuapp.com/nwn/creature/bic

This is just a start. I could see this turning into an on-line editor for gff files with some love and time. If enough folks are interested, I could open up the source for community dev.

If you enjoy this tool, checkout my pw called 'The Boneyard' and if you see me say hi - Seed.

Comments

• AtrophiedericAtrophiederic Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 147
    Tried it, but it timed out on my pc. I will keep trying, though.

I think this is a smashing idea! Now, I don't know anything about translation of .bic files, but do you know if there is there a way to read inventory? Essentially to grab a snapshot of the character? That would be the shizzle!

• dunahandunahan Member Posts: 139
    @Atrophiederic that should be possible. With those tools I know (from @niv or @Liareth), it's already possible to convert a bic file. This file could be read and so on...
  • SeedSeed Member Posts: 6
    Yes, it should be showing the entirity of the character sheet + the equipped inventory. I didn't list out the non-equipped inventory, but that would be as simple as sending that list into the display class.

Here's one I uploaded - https://nwnboneyard.herokuapp.com/nwn/creature/bic/5cd424e08724de00049b38c0

It's an heroku app and free, so if not actively being used, it will shut down. I'm sure there are a few bugs too for a few classes that I need to work through.