Skip to content

Combat Tutorial Please

I recently started playing PST:EE and other than combat, I'm loving it. I'm not new to CRPGs by any means but the combat system is driving me nuts. I've looked high and low for a basic tutorial and combat walk through. The manual is light on details. I understand that this is not a combat oriented game but if I do stumble into a fight, I'd like to do more than wake up in the mortuary again.

Can anyone point me to something that would help? Surely I'm not the first person who's needed combat help.

Thank you.

Comments

• ZaxaresZaxares Member Posts: 1,325
    Some extra information would help. How have you arranged your stats? What class are you currently using? Have you any extra companions to help you aside from Morte? (If you haven't yet, one of your first destinations in the game should be to head to the Smoldering Corpse tavern to pick up Dak'kon and possibly Ignus. Dak'kon's particularly helpful because he can change your class to Warrior or Mage and back again.)
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • bobbd2000bobbd2000 Member Posts: 9
    Thanks for the fast replies. I'm really just starting out. I'm almost through Day 2 and levelled up once. Still just TNO and Morte. Based on what I read, I set up stats to get the most out of dialog so STR 10, INT 17, WIS 17, DEX 9, CON 10, CHR 13. I also expect to play a mage. Difficulty is set to the lowest.

I do have the console commands to adjust attributes so I could cheat with CON but I'd rather not. Part of RPGing for me is juggling stats.

My main concern is combat mechanics. I thought The Witcher was bad. So a thug attacks, what do I do? Do I pause, select a weapon, and press the Attack button? Do I click on the thug? How do I get Morte to attack? Should Party AI be on or off? That said, I do know how to flee :-) Although it usually has to be to the next area. At least when I come back, they don't attack immediately.