Skip to content

Need help with ASG Creature Spawn

ThakeThake Member Posts: 14
Hi there

I'm trying to figure out how to build, with no knowledge about scripting. I've come across Alleyslink"s Persistent World Base Module (APWB) that comes with Donnie Wilbank's ASG Spawnkit.

It's described very well and I've managaed to place a few spawns, but I cannot set the respawn time, as there's no variable for it. So, how do I set a specific timer?

In addition, the Spawn kit actually needs an area to have two events set. OnEnter and OnExit - however, I've already set a script on the OnExit (to clean up the area to prevent server lag). Now, how can I set multiple scripts OnExit for an area?

Thanks

Comments

• QuilistanQuilistan Member Posts: 177
    Have you ever tried the NESS spawn system? I have liked it the most.

https://neverwintervault.org/search/node/NESS
  • ThakeThake Member Posts: 14
    I haven't. I am brand new to building.

Thanks for a suggested alternative and an answer at all, it's appreciated. I'll have a look at the NESS spawn system
  • Pixel_MayhemPixel_Mayhem Member Posts: 61
    I've used the NESS Spawn system and I can say out all the systems out there NESS is the easiest to use.
    Thake
    edited September 2019
    I've DL'd it and I can say, yes.. it's fairly easy to use.

BUT: It needs a script in the OnHeartBeat event of the area... and from what I've heard... over and over again from various builders all over the years: DO NOT PUT STUFF IN ON HEARTBEAT EVENTS. Well, as little as possible, that is.

Will I run into problems, by having most areas covered with OnHeartBeat events? Performance problems, to be specific.
    NESS should have OnEnter and OnExit scripts for each area. I don't have any in the OnHeatbeat.

The system is great for modules and for PWs. I run a PW I also used this system for an NWN2 PW(no longer running).