Skip to content

Noob starting guide/tips for creating custom models?

I host a server and i'd like to get into creating custom creatures/weapons/etc models for it in my spare time. I'm familiar with things like Photoshop and what not, but beyond that i'm a complete noob with 3D modeling. I know of programs like blender but have never used them.

So, i would appreciate any resources, suggestions, etc on where and how to get started.

How tough is it exactly to get started in something like this? Will i be able to make some decent/good looking models in a few months? or is something that will take a long time to learn and be good at?

thanks

Comments

• jpsweeney94jpsweeney94 Member Posts: 93
    edited September 2019
    also are there any legal issues to be aware of?? the server is themed around a very popular fantasy franchise.. Since it's a game mod and i'm not making any money, i assume it's ok to model creatures after the existing franchise material?? or is it more complex?
  • AtrophiedericAtrophiederic Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 147
    edited September 2019
    In the gulf between BioWare's support of NwN and Beamdog's appearance on the scene, @TheAmethystDragon created a fan site, Neverwinter Nights Community Site, to help direct folks who had general questions about NwN and modding NwN. This link leads to the Custom Content page of the Community Site, and has many directions to find tutorials and resources for making custom content. It's a great jumping off point! And, of course, the Neverwinter Vault has many tutorials and resources as well!
    Happy content creating!
  • AtrophiedericAtrophiederic Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 147