Skip to content

New player, fighter->mage dual classing plan and other things

UncleSporkyUncleSporky Member Posts: 100
Hello, I'm playing this game on the Nintendo Switch and this is my first time playing through it. Sorry to pollute the boards with yet another noob asking for advice topic. :p

I've previously played through Planescape Torment (non-enhanced but with resolution mod) and a little bit of Icewind Dale. Excited to finally play through the entirety of the Baldur's Gate saga. I want to transfer this character all the way through everything.

Following various bits of advice I've seen online, and because I like the sound of it, I'm going to play a fighter->mage dual class. I'm ok with being bog standard, it still sounds fun. I was INCREDIBLY lucky to get a great roll without having to try very long at all, I think the total may have been 88, and when I bumped strength up to 18 I saw that magical 18/00 and was shocked. This was like less than 10 minutes of trying.

I've invested 2 pips into longswords and 2 pips into two weapon fighting.

From what I understand, if I dual to mage at fighter level 7, I'll be at 4 pips in longswords. Then I will have to wait until mage level 12 to achieve grand mastery with 5 pips. Alternatively, I can be cheesy and wait at mage level 5 until I have enough XP to go immediately to mage level 8, at which time I can spend the point from mage level 6 on grand mastery.

Questions:

1. Is what I wrote above correct, will it work? Should I try to save up my XP to be able to do this?

2. What should I spend my level 1 mage proficiency point on? I could go with slings and make that my ranged weapon of choice, I heard they're actually awesome with high strength. However I will eventually be a mage slinging spells instead of stones so maybe that's not worth it. If not that, dagger or quarterstaff? And should I eventually go on to invest further in whichever weapon I choose?