Skip to content

Etiquette for stepping on other modders' toes?

I am a noob to the modder scene, so please be understanding.
I was wondering about the proper protocol for modifying content introduced by other mods. To be clear, I do not mean releasing a fork of a whole mod, or substantial alterations, but rather a mod which patches content of other mods along with original game files.

The basic cases I have is a portrait pack changing the portraits for mod NPCs, or a arms&armour rework updating items from mods to be in line with the new versions of basic items (such as changing damages on swords, etc). I would love for example to see shs soundsets get subtitles to the point of doing most of the work and offering to shs, but if I can't distribute them (without the orignal sounsets theselves) as a separate mod until it comes to pass (orif it doesn't), my motivation evaporates.

A muddier one would be toning down the power of some items/spells: for example rewards from quest mods which I like, but find too powerful (even if only slightly), especially in the context of the actual quest. Unfortunately - for my taste - this is the vast majority of fan content.

A separate dillema is 'stealing' ideas (not the actual code). There are many competing mods for doing basically the same, but with a slight twist or different stats. Most common are numerous tweaks components for casting/thieving in armour, but there are also a couple of more unique ideas. I would of corse gladly credit my predecesors, although I am not even sure about the wording: most of what I know and put in I learned by reviwing other mods and I certainly don't want to create an impression that original code is involved and any bugs or quirks may be possibly attributed to the author of that mod.