Skip to content

Cleric/Thief through the trilogy, which weapons? kits?

I've had SOD since it came out and never had tried bringing along Glint. Loved pretty much everything about the guy. He's been a staple in my thief-less or cleric-less good/neutral groups since I started playing SOD. Eventually I was surprised how useful he was as a cleric/thief being able to buff, heal, scout, disable traps, set traps, etc. Yes the thieving button on the back screen is annoying, but Its almost like having two (or more!) party members in one slot so its not that big of a deal to me.

I thought about making one of my own, and going through the entire trilogy with it. I'm pretty much set on doing an ee-keeper'd dwarf cleric/thief instead of gnome or half-orc. I love gnomes, but I've done them to death now (thief/illusionist, cleric/mage, fighter/illusionist). Same with evil groups so this one is going to be neutral or good-aligned. I like to RP a bit with my characters and was thinking up which gods such a character would follow. I was looking through the list below and the only ones that I saw that this may work with is Vergadain & Marthammor Duin? Are there any others from other domains that would work I overlooked?

https://forgottenrealms.fandom.com/wiki/Trickery_domain

I planned on adding the swashbuckler kit to the thief side too. I know about the beefy backstabs you can do later with staff of the ram but backstabbing with a staff just sounds silly to me. When I play thieves, I far prefer setting traps to backstabbing anyways. The other thing I was wondering about was:

May Specialize (two slots, -1 THAC0 bonus, +2 damage rolls bonus, but does not gain extra 1/2 APR) in any melee weapons available to Thieves

Assuming thief/cleric here, would this only apply to clubs and quarterstaves? If so, is there a mod that opens up dual-classing weapon proficiencies between the two classes more?

TLDR: