Skip to content

Are whips available in the main game?

Ian579Ian579 Member Posts: 241
I saw on the wiki that whip "Requires Hordes of the Underdark". Not sure if that means whips are exclusive in the said expansion pack.

I started playing the game (enhanced edition) last night. I'm currently leveling up to level 3 and saw the description of the "Weapon Proficient (exotic)" feat mentions whip.

I think whips are cool weapons so I like them. Although my character is a wizard, I might still take the feat in order to use whips for role playing reasons. I just need a confirmation that whips are available in the main game, too. Thanks.
Post edited by Ian579 on

Comments

• ProlericProleric Member Posts: 1,282
    HotU ships with the main game these days, so whips are available.

You won't find one until you play HotU, but you should be able to spawn one in the earlier modules using the console command

dm_spawnitem x2_it_wpwhip

You'll need the exotic weapons feat to use it.
  • Ian579Ian579 Member Posts: 241
    edited July 2020
    Proleric wrote: »
    HotU ships with the main game these days, so whips are available.

You won't find one until you play HotU, but you should be able to spawn one in the earlier modules using the console command

dm_spawnitem x2_it_wpwhip

You'll need the exotic weapons feat to use it.

I see. So without using console command, there is no whip in the main game. I'll give up the idea of using whips in the main game then.

Are there whips in other expansion packs?
  • CerabelusCerabelus Member Posts: 385
    Only in Expansion 2 (Hordes of the Underdark), not just Whips but some other weapons too.

They never bothered to update the shops in the OC to have the Expansion added weapons.

The OC does have a random loot system which is affected by Weapon Focus Feat, I'm wondering if you could still get one from a chest.
    edited July 2020
    Cerabelus wrote: »