Skip to content

No Reload Trilogy Survivable PC - What Kit?

Hey all,

I have been playing this game for about 20 years on and off and have posted a couple of times on these forums and received some great advice, so I am hoping for some more advice.

I have always been a bit lazy with the game, not really worrying about dying. I also find prebuffing after each rest to be a bit of a chore. To try to "up my game," I am now trying noreload with SCS (only intermediate difficulty changes to make the game harder without guaranteeing death).

I want to play with a 5-6 party.

Both of my two runs so far have ended before I even hit level 2 so I am now turning to ya'll for some advice as to the most durable PC I can use for a no-reload challenge. I figure that thief/scout PC isn't a good idea as I don't want to miss a trap and get zapped. While an arcane caster might work, a pure mage is likely a bad idea because of the low HP and the fact that I hate prebuffing before every fight.

My current thought is a dwarf fighter/cleric with me EE keepering some kit on top. As I want to ensure survivability, I was thinking of throwing dwarven defender on top but am open to another kit if someone has recommendations. This would give me shorty saving throws and the ability to sanctuary. I had also thought about a R/C, but I have played one before and I can never get into RPing such an odd class combo.

Another thought is paladin (likely cavalier) as I always seem to take Keldorn in BG2, but the thought of having my PC be a frontline tank makes me nervous.

I am, however, open to other ideas.

Also, if anyone has any weapon recommendations for the series, let me know. For the F/C, I'm thinking warhammer and then flail (and I guess slings for ranged?).

Also, if this is in the wrong forum, please move it.

Thanks.

Comments

• Balrog99Balrog99 Member Posts: 7,367
    edited December 2020