Skip to content

Noob Assassin questions

So I have some experience with later versions of dnd, but after playing for a few hours into my first playthrough of IWD, I have a few questions.
I have a Thief/assassin and I'm wondering why she never attacks with her offhand. She uses 2 daggers, has 2 weapon and dagger proficencies and is currently level 4. I have been looking through the combat log after every fight and havent seen one single attack roll for her offhand. Shouldnt all her attacks in a round be with both daggers?
Also not 100% on backstab vs sneak attack. I read some explanations but not sure I understand it completely. It has to do with the v3sneak attack option in the gameplay menu? If you have sneak attack off you backstab if behind an enemy and in stealth? If you turn on sneak attacks you dont have to be stealthed but have to be behind the target and all your attacks get a damage bonus from behind? Is that right?

Comments

• sarevok57sarevok57 Member Posts: 5,975
    so first, for attacking with 2 weapons, you have to make sure the off hand weapon is in the shield slot, and with that being said, in any given round, regardless of the amount of attacks per round you have, you only ever get one off hand attack per round, even if your off hand weapon is a speed weapon ( aka gives an extra attack per round ) it will do it with the main hand, this is just an engine limitation, so if you are fighting with 2 weapons, and have 4 attacks per round, 3 will be with the main hand and 1 will be with the off hand

you can also look at her attacks per round in her character sheet, if she is just a standard assassin with no speed weapons using a dagger in each hand, she should have 2 attacks per round, if you are seeing just 1, then that means you do not have a weapon equipped in the shield slot